This season I am going to be keeping you up to date with the most recent and import news for the FHL. Here are a few things you need to know about league to get started. The Federal Hockey League:

  • The Federal Hockey League (FHL) is a professional ice hockey league with teams in the Northeastern United States and Midwestern United States.
  • The FHL began operations in November 2010.
  • The Dayton Demonz currently hold the championship title.
  • The league only had a 4 teams in the 2013-2014 season.
  • The Staged Fight and Beer Incident (yes this is an actual thing).
  • There are 6 teams in the FHL for the 2014-2015 season.

There were originally 6 teams during the inaugural 2010-2011 season. During the 2010–11 season, the Broome County Barons relocated their operations to Cape Cod due to lack of fan support, and Rome Frenzy suspended operations mid-season. In May 2012 it was announced that the Brooklyn Aviators were ceasing operations and that an expansion team was being added in Dayton, Ohio. Akwesasne would win the very first Commissioner’s Cup title with a 3-1 series win over the New York Aviators. The New Jersey Outlaws went on to win the Commissioner’s Cup in the second season of the FHL. The Danbury Whalers won the 3rd Commissioner’s Cup. The Dayton Demonz won the 4th ever Commissioner’s Cup.

The FHL has added a franchise in Southwest Pennsylvania for the 14-15 season, named the Southwest Pennsylvania Magic.

The Watertown Privateers were bought, and renamed before the start of the 2014-2015 season, making them now the Watertown Wolves. Early in September of this year, the FHL announced the addition the Berkshire Battalion.

Don’t worry, I will fill you in on the staged fight and beer incident very soon!

If you have any questions, or anything you would like to know about the FHL, feel free to email me.